Online yoga rebate: the short answer
Some health funds will pay a rebate on online yoga classes, but only one group says so in writing. The Teachers Health group (Teachers Health, Nurses & Midwives Health and UniHealth) accepts online fitness programs under its Healthy Lifestyle benefit, as long as the provider has an Australian Business Number (ABN). Most other funds say nothing either way on their public pages, so an online yoga health fund rebate from them is possible but unconfirmed. Ask your fund before you rely on it.
Tell us what your fund said. It will take a while for all this to settle down, and your answer helps the next person. Email [email protected] or use our contact page.
Last updated 1 October 2026. This is general information, not financial or insurance advice.
Online yoga classes and health funds in short form
- Confirmed: the Teachers Health group accepts online programs from a provider with an ABN.
- Flametree has an ABN, and its online classes are live, with a teacher who can see you.
- Unconfirmed: most other funds do not say. Ask yours.
- The usual rules still apply: extras cover, a signed form, then the classes.
- Family can often join the Teachers Health group, even if the eligible relative is not a member.
- Flametree’s online classes run on Zoom, across Australia, from Darwin.

Warrior III at sunset. Whether an online yoga rebate is paid depends on your fund’s own wording.
Which health funds cover online yoga classes?
On public evidence, only the Teachers Health group clearly pays an online yoga rebate. Here is where each fund stood on its own pages on 1 October 2026. What a fund publishes is not always what it does in practice, so check directly with yours.
Confirmed: the Teachers Health group
| WHO | Teachers Health, Nurses & Midwives Health and UniHealth. |
| WHAT IT SAYS | Its Healthy Lifestyle benefit names yoga and Pilates. Its form includes online fitness programs, and its page excludes “Online fitness programs that do not have a registered Australian Business Number (ABN)”. |
| WHAT IT DOES NOT SAY | It does not name live online yoga classes in so many words. A quick call to confirm is wise. |
Not stated: everyone else
| PAY FOR YOGA, ONLINE NOT STATED | ahm, CBHS, Doctors’ Health Fund, Reserve Bank Health, Westfund, Peoplecare and Health Partners. |
| COULD NOT CONFIRM ON THEIR PAGES | Bupa, HCF, nib, HBF and HIF. Flametree has seen reports that some large funds want classes attended in person, but could not find that in the funds’ own public wording. Ask. |
| NO YOGA BENEFIT YET | Medibank (now expected in January 2027, but check with Medibank), Defence Health, Navy Health, Police Health and ACA Health. |
For the full picture on which funds pay for yoga at all, how much, and who can join, see the national guide: Can You Claim Yoga On Private Health Insurance? The 2026 Guide.

Kim, a Flametree teacher, in Extended Side Angle Pose. Online yoga classes can count for some funds, if the provider has an ABN.
Who can join the Teachers Health group?
More people than the names suggest. Teachers Health takes current or former members of an education union, including teachers’ aides, school admin and support staff, education students and retirees. Nurses & Midwives Health takes nurses, midwives, assistants in nursing and care workers in a nursing union. UniHealth takes university staff who are or were NTEU members.
Family can join too, even if the eligible relative is not a member. That includes partners and former partners, children and stepchildren, parents and parents-in-law, brothers and sisters and their partners, and grandchildren.
TUH (Union Health), now part of the same group, is described on the government’s insurer listing as open to past and present members of any union and their families. If you have ever been in a union, you may be eligible, so check with TUH. Whether TUH pays for yoga online or in the studio is not yet confirmed.
Teachers Health’s own page says new members who join an eligible Hospital & Extras cover or StarterPak (Basic Plus) by 31 October 2026 have the 2 and 6 month waits waived on extras services. The Healthy Lifestyle benefit normally has a 6-month wait. Check the full terms before you join.
What should I ask my fund about online yoga?
Ask these before you count on an online yoga rebate, and get the answer in writing if you can, for example by app message:
- “Does my extras cover pay for yoga classes, and under which benefit?”
- “Do live online yoga classes by Zoom count, from an Australian studio with an ABN?”
- “Which form do I need, who can sign it, and how long does it last?”
- “Is there a waiting period, and what is my yearly limit?”
- “Does the teacher need a Yoga Australia registration number on the receipt?”
Then please tell us what your fund said, especially about online classes. Email [email protected] or use our contact page.

Kim in Warrior III near Darwin. Online yoga from Darwin reaches students across Australia.
How do Flametree’s online classes work?
They are live classes on Zoom, taught from Darwin by Flametree Yoga Studio’s Iyengar teachers, with Chris Lalor, a Certified Senior Iyengar Yoga Teacher, overseeing the teaching. You can be seen and corrected, just as in the studio. They are not recorded videos.
- Getting your link to join. Pick the class time you want on the online class list, and we email you the link to join. A reminder comes about half an hour before.
- One pass, online or studio. The half price beginner pass gives 12 classes (10 at half price plus 2 free) for $59.50, online, in a Darwin studio, or a mix, for newcomers and anyone lapsed 3 months or more.
- Online only, for non-beginners. The introductory online month is $29 for 30 days of online classes only, for new or lapsed non-beginners.
- What you need at home. A phone, tablet or computer, a little floor space, and simple props. We show you how to use household items.
More on how it works is on our live online yoga classes page.
What goes on the receipt for an online class?
The same as for a studio class: Flametree’s name and ABN (18 801 189 967), your name, the classes and their dates, what you paid, and teacher details. That ABN is exactly what the Teachers Health group asks for when you claim an online yoga rebate.
Some funds also ask for the teacher’s Yoga Australia registration number. Not every Flametree teacher has one yet, so if your online yoga health fund claim needs it, tell us before you start.
Online yoga in Darwin, or anywhere in Australia
The online yoga rebate rules are the same wherever you live. Many Flametree students live in Darwin and still choose online yoga on busy days. Others join from elsewhere in Australia, including Alice Springs. If you are in Darwin and want the studio as well, the Darwin yoga health fund rebate page has the local details.
Common questions about online yoga and health funds
Can I get a health fund rebate for online yoga?
Possibly. The Teachers Health group accepts online fitness programs from a provider with an ABN. Most other funds do not say either way, so ask yours first.
Should I still check with my health fund about online yoga?
Yes, always. Online yoga cover is new and still settling down. What a fund publishes is not always what it does in practice, and some fund staff have not yet been briefed on their own fund’s website. The only definite answer is the one your fund gives you. Please tell us what it said.
Does Teachers Health cover online yoga?
Its Healthy Lifestyle benefit names yoga and accepts online programs, excluding only providers without an ABN. It does not name live online yoga by itself, so a quick call to confirm is wise.
Does Bupa, HCF or nib cover online yoga?
Flametree could not confirm this on their own public pages. Ask your fund directly.
Does Medibank cover online yoga?
Medibank does not pay for yoga yet. It is now expected in January 2027, but check with Medibank.
Is a live online class different from a yoga video for a health fund?
Funds have not said. A live class with a teacher who can see you, from a provider with an ABN, is the kind of program the Teachers Health group describes. Ask your fund about recorded videos separately.
Can I join Teachers Health if I am not a teacher?
Possibly. School support staff, education students, nurses and university staff in the relevant unions can join, and so can many of their relatives. Check eligibility with the fund.
Do I need a signed form for online classes too?
Yes. The same form and the same conditions apply whether you attend online or in the studio.
Can I do online yoga from Darwin with Flametree?
Yes. Darwin students use the same pass online, in the Woolner or Coolalinga studio, or both.
Sources
All checked on 1 October 2026.
- Teachers Health, Healthy Lifestyle programs: teachershealth.com.au
- Teachers Health, who can join: teachershealth.com.au
- Nurses & Midwives Health, Healthy Lifestyle programs: nmhealth.com.au
- privatehealth.gov.au, TUH insurer details: privatehealth.gov.au
- Medibank, Health Support Benefits approval form: medibank.com.au
Flametree Yoga Studio, Darwin and live online. General information only, not financial, insurance or medical advice. Always confirm cover, limits, waiting periods and forms with your own health fund.


